Reviews

8.3
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
8.3
Property Location
7.9
Facilities
7.6
Staff
9.3
Value
7.6

Reviews

    us

    Review Score

    3.8
    September 3, 2018

    Not worth the money.

    We told the host that we would get breakfast at 8:30am (served from 7-9) and she agreed . She very rudely told us the next morning that the breakfast is at 8 and told us off for "coming late". She also said that the breakfast is a "free" perk and not something she had to give us. I myself am vegan and told her the night before that I would just be having fruit. The next morning, she presented us with a fruit custard which I could not eat. I politely told her if I could have regular fruit and she proceeded to tell me that "she was not a mind reader" and I should have told her yesterday. I very clearly said fruit when she told us what she would be serving the night before and was not made aware she'd put a cream all over it. We also specified my vegan diet when we made the booking. She left with a huff and I just told her I didn't need the regular fruit and did not eat anything. The room itself was dingy and drab with no soap or lotion in the bathroom. There was also no view of the sea. Definitely not worth even half of the 200$ we spent.
    The full breakfast looked good (i wasn't able to eat any of it) despite the rude host.
    Stephen
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 30, 2018
    Absolutely nothing....
    Shirley was awesome, the breakfast was not only outstanding but the presentation was phenomenal. The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The bathroom was large and clean.
    lennie
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 28, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    LucerneVisitor
    us

    Review Score

    7.1
    August 15, 2018
    It is a beautiful house, but its old. The room does not have AC, which is OK for cool nights, but on a warm evening, its uncomfortable.
    The hostess is VERY WELL mannered and has an excellent disposition. Breakfast was fantastic and her service made us feel very welcome.
    Annie
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 13, 2018
    No cons...all pros!!
    Our host Shirley was very sweet and friendly. Beautiful, well kept property. Huge ground floor room with spacious, private, clean bathroom.Good location...only one nite stay.
    Retirees from Oregon
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 13, 2017
    Lovely host, friendly, kind non-intrusive. Good and generous breakfast.
    us

    Review Score

    4.6
    September 12, 2017

    Just a bed to sleep on. No personality.

    Thin walls. Better curb appeal. Host was v friendly. Better price.
    Looked like a dump outside entrance. Old home, noisy highway outside bedroom window.
    Colin
    ca

    Review Score

    8.8
    August 2, 2017

    Shirley is a wonderful host! great brekkie too

    Julia
    gb

    Review Score

    8.8
    July 24, 2017

    Very friendly landlady in private B&B

    Very kind landlady in this private bed and breakfast, and sumptuous breakfasts! It is slightly easier if you have a car, but there are two bus stops close by for two different bus lines. The landlady drove me up to the slightly further one (up a hill) twice, which I thought was super kind of her!
    Devarajan
    us

    Review Score

    10
    July 10, 2017

    A great place to stay close to Mt Rainier

    None
    Great host and facility. This lodge is not far from the beautiful Mt Rainier.
    Karen
    ca

    Review Score

    8.8
    August 28, 2018

    Shirley made us feel very welcome and cared for!

    Everything met or exceeded our expectations! No complaints.
    Decor was somewhat dated, but did not take away from our comfortable stay. Location worked well for us because we flew in and had to take ferry to Salt Spring Island. Food was great and Shirley was very accommodating for my husband's limited appetite. Beautiful yard. Had weather been better, it would have been lovely to sit out. Shirley was helpful in suggesting where to eat and what to see (including how to get there) We really enjoyed the Thursday Night Market in Sidney!
    Lorna
    ca

    Review Score

    6.7
    August 13, 2018

    It was adequate. I was safe, and had a tasty breakfast.

    I couldn't open a window for fresh air. The room was at ground level so it was relatively cool which was good. I don't know why it's called Sea View.
    Shirley was great as was the breakfast.
    Pascal
    fr

    Review Score

    5.4
    August 7, 2018

    Not far from the ferry.

    The house and the equipments are quite old. The highway is very close to the property and that creates some noise. The breakfast is good, no more.
    The host was very kind.
    ca

    Review Score

    8.8
    August 7, 2018
    There is no air conditioning.
    Very amiable hostess!
    Shane Komant
    ca

    Review Score

    10
    July 15, 2018

    The Wonderful World of Shirley

    A home away from home.
    ca

    Review Score

    10
    July 11, 2018

    Nice, comfortable, convenient and worth every dollar.

    The door was a bit hard to lock. But I think that's more the age of the house than anything. Instead of a kettle, we have a coffee maker. Being a person who has never used a coffee maker before, I had to google how to use it to figure it out. But these weren't deal breakers, mere minor setbacks to an otherwise perfect accommodation.
    The owner was very nice and friendly. She provided us with all we needed and more, such as giving us hints and tips on when to set off to Butchart Garden and how far it was from her place. We came prepared with a GPS but if we hadn't, she would have given us directions and possibly even maps. Breakfast was provided and our individual needs were met (I am lactose intolerant so it's nice to have a choice of dairy free foodstuffs). We had a wonderful time chatting with the owner during breakfast, giving it a more homey feel than a hotel.
    Martin Candlish
    ca

    Review Score

    9.5
    June 4, 2018

    Very pleasant short stay in an ideal area for us.

    One fellow visitor who was both inconsiderate and loud - being noisy in the very early (5:00 AM) on a Sunday morning.
    Very comfortable bed, excellent breakfasts, and welcoming host.
    ca

    Review Score

    9.6
    October 12, 2017

    We enjoyed our stay and the location and room suited our needs.

    There was no smoke detector in the room we stayed in and the windows did not open to allow in some fresh air. Otherwise the room was comfortable and suited our needs perfectly.
    Breakfast was excellent every day.
    Lorraine
    ca

    Review Score

    7.1
    September 14, 2017

    Very friendly host.

    Flat pillows. Cool breakfast.
    Bed was comfy. Nice view of the ocean from window.
    Ian
    gb

    Review Score

    8.3
    July 30, 2017

    Good value b&b in semi-rural /suburban situation.

    The location is mixed. Coming from the ferry and going to Victoria is fine, as there is an exit off the busy main road. Coming back is more complicated as no left turns are allowed, and means taking positively dangerous and confusing roundabouts. The house is set on a hillside and otherwise is very quiet suburban almost countryside. With a car and a good sense of direction and roundabout lay-out, this should not be an insuperable problem.
    This is a b&b where the proprietor personally prepares breakfast in a charming room with distant sea views. There is a large garden, with big trees , which dampens down the main road noise very effectively, so good nights' sleep. Very good value for money compared with properties in Victoria in high season.
Loading reviews...